A person who has been found guilty of driving under the influence in Texas can expect to face a variety of different penalties for their crime. These penalties are based on the severity of the case, how many offenses have been committed, whether or not there is an accident involved, and their driving history.
If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated in Texas, you may be sentenced to pay a fine, spend time in jail or prison, or be required to complete community service. There are three different types of penalties for DWI offenses: a fine only, a fine and imprisonment, and a sentence to community service along with a fine. Texas has some of the toughest laws against driving while intoxicated in the country. Therefore, hiring a criminal defense attorney in Pearland is essential if you are accused of driving while intoxicated.
Here are different types of penalties charged in Texas for driving while intoxicated.
A fine of up to $2000
Driving while intoxicated is a serious problem in the United States. In Texas, it’s not just dangerous for the driver but also for everyone else on the road. This is because people who are intoxicated are more likely to get into accidents, which can cause injuries or death. Texas has strict laws on DWI that have been increasing over time. A first offense of driving while intoxicated in Texas can be charged as a Class B misdemeanor, which incurs a maximum fine of up to $2000, but with the possibility of no jail time.
Suspension of driving license from 90 days to 1 year
In light of the recent increase in DWIs throughout Texas, Governor Greg Abbott signed a new law suspending the driver’s license from 90 days to one year for those convicted of Driving While Intoxicated. This law is expected to be used as a deterrent to those trying to get behind the wheel drunk and reduce criminal offenses that involve drinking and driving.
Three to 180 days in jail
In Texas, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle while intoxicated. In Texas, those who are convicted of a DWI will be sentenced to three to 180 days in jail for a first offense. A second conviction will lead to six months to two years in prison, and a person’s third or subsequent offense can lead to two to ten years in prison.